Society & Religion

Oshiomhole sacks 4 cabinet members in Edo State

Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State on September 9 terminated the appointment of four of his commissioners with immediate effect.

This has sent jitters down the spine of other commissioners and aides of the governor. All through the day, workers in the Government House in GRA Benin City were seen talking in hushed tones.

A statement issued by the governor’s special adviser on media and public affairs, Prince Kassim Afegbua, listed those affected. They are Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftancy Affairs, Chief Lucky James; Commissioner for Women Affairs, Mrs. Blessing Maigida;  Commissioner for ‎Basic Education, Mr. Patrick Aguinede; and the Commissioner for Energy and Water Resources, Mr. Chris Ebare.

Oshiomhole, did not give any reason for the sack of his former cabinet members, but directed them to handover all government assets in their possession to the permanent secretaries in their respective ministries.

“The Comrade Governor expresses his appreciation to the former commissioners for their services to the state and wishes them well in their future endeavours,” Afegbua wrote.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

%d bloggers like this: